News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

DINO-FIGUREs PHOTOGRAPHY ( Image Heavy Thread )

Started by RobinGoodfellow, July 03, 2015, 12:01:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RobinGoodfellow

Talking with some members of the forum, I decide to open a thread about figure photography (aka taking photos of our beloved dino-models the best way possible and technically correct).
As a photographer, I think there are 3 areas of interest:
1) To light and photograph little/medium sized model
2) Taking pictures of big models with ambient light
3) tips & tricks about digital camera, settings, lens...

In the first post I'll try to explain the best way (..for me..) to light our dino-models.
( Since now I beg your pardon for my english.. ??? )

RobinGoodfellow

On my opinion the best way to light our dino-models  is using the still-life photographic  technique in a smaller scale.
The most important tool is the Soft Box.
You can buy one or just decide to build one yourself.

There are many on Amazon:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Phot-R-Professional-Studio-Coloured-Backdrops/dp/B00II2KYSK/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1435833380&sr=8-8&keywords=Portable+Photo+Studio

The left, right and upper face of the box is made of a semi-trasparent, white material (like heavy silk) so the light can walk through them.
This material works as a diffusion filter so the resulting light will be without dark shadows.
The Soft Box is highly portable

The Sof Box uses Velcro to fix each face of the box in position.