News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

Orcinus Ocean's sculptures

Started by Orcinus Ocean, May 16, 2018, 10:47:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Orcinus Ocean

I have been sculpting since late 2014, I use super sculpey and since the beginning of this year, SS firm on detailed areas like the face, tail and feet.
I mainly make whales, but asides for a crappy Durodon I made in late 2014 that I don't dare show you, this is my only prehistoric animal sculpture so far.

This one took me exactly one month to make, in April.

The pose is meant to be her throwing her head up, which is why the trunk is not hitting the ground.

I looked mainly at African elephants for references in the skin, and they are much wrinklier than the Asian.
It has nothing to do with accuracy, no one knows what the skin looked like, it was just an artistic choice.

She has a bit odd proportions with a large head, so let's say it's a subadult.
The neck is kind of long, but that was according to how they're frequently depicted, though I don't know if the complete vertebrae have ever been found.

Deinotherium is often depicted with a short, tapir-like trunk, but I disagree with that.
If they had a short trunk combined with those long legs, they would have to lay down every time they needed to drink.

They are also frequently depicted with tiny, woolly mammoth-like ears, despite living in a warm climate.
They lived across Africa and parts of Eurasia, and I made her ears larger than an Asian elephant's, but smaller than an African elephant's.