News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

Justin's sketches and sculpts

Started by Justin_, August 08, 2020, 03:57:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Justin_

These are the first finished figurative drawings on paper I've done for over a decade, despite illustration and graphics being one of my jobs. At the moment I'm more interested in learning techniques for pen & ink drawing, which is something I've never done much of before, rather than depicting specific species.

First up, something early, like a Herrerasaurus:

The original pencil drawing was in a lined notepad, but I inked it on tracing paper and coloured the scan.

Secondly, some kind of Allorsauroid:

I didn't make my life easy with this odd perspective, which hasn't quite worked!

Totoro

These are awesome avatar_Justin_ @Justin_!  I like the sense of motion you've captured in both.  I'll be on the lookout for more! 
Old Kaiyodo chocolasaur diorama thread:
https://dinotoyforum.proboards.com/thread/3848

indohyus

Does look rather impressive. Well done.

Shonisaurus

Very well done your herrerasaurus although I like your second drawing of the allosaurus much more. Nice illustrations, I would like to draw like you and I tell you sincerely since in my case I am a disaster for drawing.

Newt

That vegetation is boss! I like your inking style.

Justin_