News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Introducing Georassic Park

Started by Georassic, October 22, 2013, 04:12:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Georassic

I'm a newbie to the forum, but a few friendlies expressed interest in my diorama entry, which is part of a larger, permanent diorama I built. I started it more than a year ago, around the time I started collecting dinos, and months before I discovered this blog/forum. I have a home office in a finished basement, so the window is below ground-level, and it looks out into a window well... essentially a hole with wooden sides and gravel. So I began converting it to an open-air diorama. Here is an early version; the window is about belt-high.

Georassic

That photo was before much of the foliage and rockscape were finished. The paint on the walls was splashed on in a brief afternoon, using leftover paint from past house projects. It wasn't meant to be even remotely realistic, just better than bare wood. For the overall project, I've had to use weather-resistant materials, like astroturf for grass, various forms of glass and clear acrylic for water, and aquarium plants for foliage. Here's a present-day  aerial view, peering into the window well:

Georassic