You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Could anyone identify my coprolite specimen?

Started by Battatitan, October 31, 2014, 03:14:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Battatitan

Hi everyone :)

Could anyone help with any information about this 'specimen' (pictures below)?

At least ten years ago my (non-paleontological) family and I visited the dinosaur tracks near Tuba City, Arizona. Being a very young boy at the time I was thrilled to see prehistoric remains pretty much in situ at such close quarters, and gladly accepted the Navajo's identification of a dinosaur coprolite (wow! And it doesn't even smell!)

Now, however, I'm interested to know a little (or a lot) more about it. I'm currently studying A Level Geology (with a view to study Geology at degree level) so my knowledge is somewhat limited! I think it's only recently that wider palaeontology (not just dinosaur toys!) has become a serious passion for me, so any input from you knowledgeable folk will be greatly appreciated!

I appreciate even identifying a coprolite is difficult – less so with my amateur pictures (I'm more than happy to take specific pictures if that will help?) but I gladly welcome any observations (or identifications) you might have: what sort of dinosaur deposited it? Is it even a coprolite?

Thanks for reading and any thoughts you might have   :)

Above

Moving clockwise

Another view

Close-up detail

'Cross-Section' seen in picture 3

Underside

:))

Crackington

Looks like there may be bits of pulverised bone  in it, so a carnivore if so. Have you googled coprolites to see if there are any it resembles?

SBell