News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Sculpting Advice For A Newbie?

Started by IrritatorRaji, February 25, 2018, 09:52:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IrritatorRaji

I've never sculpted before, but I want to give it a go. I want to try to add feathers to one of my Rex figures (I have a few chinasaur raptors to practice on).

So, um, how do I start? What materials should I use?

paintingdinos

I'm far from a pro, but I can give some advice!

For smaller figures or a smaller amount of feathering, I like kneadatite (aka "Green stuff"). Its a 2-part epoxy that's a little bit firmer and tackier than most of the other 2-parts that I've used. This is nice because if you're wanting to make individual feather details, like the ones on the Rex below, its a little easier:

I made each feather separately, then slowly tacked them on. I worked in layers like this, and gave them time to set a bit before working on the next later so they didn't accidentally stick to each other as I was layering.

You can use other 2-parts and get good results. I also have and use Apoxie sculpt, and its fine. Its very easy to smooth out with a bit of water (green stuff doesn't really have this property). I use it more for filling gaps, but it can also be sculpted with: