News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Best Dimetrodon? Safari vs. CollectA

Started by Loon, February 15, 2021, 10:46:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Loon

So, I've been redoing my Paleozoic display, and I'm just not quite sure whether or not to keep my CollectA Dimetrodon.

It seems to have a few issues when compared to Scott Hartman's updated skeletal. I'm not an expert, but I believe the sail's wrong.

Credit: Scott Hartman

I've been considering replacing it with the Safari figure, but I'm still not sure how much better it is, I can't really make out the indent around the pelvis, and I'm not sure if the sail is 100% right.

Credit: Safari

I prefer the more active look of the CollectA, but I'd rather have the most accurate figure, overall.

Credit: CollectA

So, I want to know what you all think. I'm not particularly concerned with the aesthetics, either is just fine in that department, but more so how well they convey all the recent research.

Lynx

I would stick with the CollectA dimetrodon. It's more accurate then the Safari one sail wise.
An oversized house cat.

stargatedalek

Please don't take the degree of soft tissue on Hartman's skeletals to heart.

The CollectA with its more upright posture and tail probably wins out on accuracy, but both have issues. While the tips of the spines likely weren't covered by the sail they certainly shouldn't be exposed bone like that either.

Loon