News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Help with taxonomy

Started by Odobenocetops, November 09, 2023, 12:31:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Odobenocetops

Hi mates!
I'm not a dino expert (more an extsnt animals collector), but I like to have some dino representatives of the main/big groups or orders.

I'm interested in the Haolonggood dilaphosaurus and macroraptor, but Im struggling to know to what branch do they belong and if I already have that in my collection or not.

This is a schema of the groups I have (green) and dont have (red). Could you please help me identifying where dilaphosaurus and macroraptors go?

Thanks in advance!

Concavenator

avatar_Odobenocetops @Kangaroa Dilophosaurus is a basal theropod. According to Marsh & Rowe (2020), it's neither a coelophysoid nor a ceratosaur, but a non-averostran related to genera like Cryolophosaurus and Zupaysaurus. According to that Excel, you don't have figures of any particularly close animal.

Megaraptor (and the groups it names) on the other hand is currently thought to be a basal tyrannosauroid (based on Naish & Cau 2022 & Novas et al. 2014). However, it should be noted that current knowledge on megaraptorans is rather poor due to the scarcity of the fossil remains unearthed so far. So their classification as tyrannosauroids is not definitive and could change in light of further discoveries. According to the Excel, you don't any figure of a tyrannosauroid.