News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Sedgwick Museum, Cambridge UK

Started by Crackington, August 16, 2015, 12:29:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crackington

I recently visited the Sedgwick Museum in Cambridge with my daughters, which is a gem of a museum and part of Downing College, University of Cambridge. This was my first visit here, as to my shame, I never went when I was a student at Cambridge in the 80s (alas the Tech, not the university!)/ I wasn't disappointed and thought members would like to see some snaps.

Visitors are greeted by an interesting sculpture at the entrance, a T-Rex with Bambi legs (hey, its art OK?), but the adjacent bikes prove this is Cambridge. The museum is a lot smaller than its rival in Oxford and rather like UCL's Grant Museum in London, retains its Victorian character and charm:

The museum was founded in honour of Prof Adam Sedgwick, a Godfather of Geology, who helped to amass much of the collection and established Cambridge as a leading institution in the field (and palaeontology). The massive collection of fossils and rocks also includes the earlier finds (some 9,000) of Dr John Woodwood, a 17th century pioneer and whom the distinguished chair in Geology is named after to this day.