You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

What are your rules for collecting? AKA What do you collect and why?

Started by Faelrin, November 25, 2016, 12:01:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Faelrin

So I'm wondering what to collect myself, being sort of new to it, and I'm wondering what others collect to get an idea. Aside from what I bought from BotM and Jurassic World, I'm relatively new to collecting, so I'm trying to form my own ideas of what I want, and my own rules, since this can be a very expensive hobby if there isn't some self control and limitations put into place for what to buy. I know there's the other thread asking about what one is interested in for any given model/toy/etc, but I suppose I want to expand that for collections in general. So things like contemporary species (trying to create a diorama or having enough species to reflect a particular ecosystem, such as hell creek, etc), personal favorite species, specific groups of animals only (sauropods only for example), the same scale, etc. I suppose accuracy could fit into this discussion as well, such as limiting oneself to only getting things that are (currently) scientifically accurate? Or have no limitation on accuracy (AKA allowing yourself to get things from Jurassic Park, etc, but maybe accurate things as well)? I'm really wondering about how to go about this myself, as there are many figures I like from what I've seen, but quite honestly, there's no way to afford all of them in a short span of time, before new things come up, and I want those as well. Granted space is obviously another issue. So what rules do you all have in place for collecting?
Film Accurate Mattel JW and JP toys list (incl. extended canon species, etc):