News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Questions for the experts…

Started by CARN0TAURUS, November 12, 2021, 12:52:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CARN0TAURUS

I'm really getting into repainting figures that I can find cheap at garage sales or on amazon or wherever.  I've done 5 so far with mixed results as I'm still learning how to mix and match colors that look good together.  So I've been using some old acrylic canvas paints I had from a ways back and I mix them using a small amount of water.  They work great on some figures but on other figures the don't want to stick on them.  I'm thinking about using a rattle can primer but I'm afraid of chemical reactions and ending up with a lump of toxic waste.  Have you guys used rattle can primer on PVC figures and will that help my acrylic paint stick on to my figures?

Also I found this figure on amazon a couple days ago, I think it might be a knock off but I can't seem to find any information on it.   I've done a ton of searches for giganotosaurus figures and non of them look like this.  I'm starting to think it might not even be a knock off, like maybe it was a prototype that never went into production for whomever designed it.  I haven't purchased it yet but I like the way it looks and I'm considering getting it so I can repaint it.  Is it a knockoff?  If anyone has it I'd love to know more about it, TIA.

Here's the link: