News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Mellow Stego's repaints and customs

Started by Mellow Stego, October 30, 2019, 03:23:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mellow Stego

Ok guys this is my first try at repainting a figure.
Constructive criticism is welcomed. I really want to get better at this.

Fixed the teeth.
Keep calm and love dinosaurs

Jose S.M.

It looks really nice! with more experience you will get better but this one is sucessfull for a first repaint! you can also try things like washes or brushing techniques to make the details pop more, I'm still learning to do that myself.

Shonisaurus

You will improve and improve over time to be the first figure is very well painted. In my case, unfortunately, I don't even have that expertise to paint figures even as you've painted that beautiful spinosaurus.

BlueKrono

I like the color scheme. Look into washes and later, dry-brushing techniques. They make the details on a figure really pop and make the whole thing look a lot more realistic.
We are accustomed to look upon the shackled form of a conquered monster, but there - there you could look at a thing monstrous and free." - King Kong, 2005

Cretaceous Crab

I like the color scheme, too. Not too flashy, and very natural for an animal that size.

As far as repainting, everyone starts somewhere. I would suggest practicing on some "cheapasaurs." Some of them do have some nice texture to work with.

Killekor