You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Silvanusaurus' Customs - New Megalosaurus Photos

Started by Silvanusaurus, August 23, 2015, 12:33:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Silvanusaurus

I've only gotten back into dinosaur collecting very recently but being a full time artist I've had quite a lot of creative ideas for custom figures. One of the things I've felt slightly dissatisfied with when it comes to dinosaur figures is the homogeneity of certain design details; a certain neat conformity that doesn't necessarily represent the oddities and variances of real animals. I've seen a lot of very interesting artwork exploring the possiblities of speculative fleshy or feathery adornments; things that may only ever be speculative but which bring a greater sense of the unique qualities these creatures must have had. There have been some really interesting figures of late that have stepped outside the box, but I thought I might try a bit of experimentation myself for my first custom sculpted figure.
Because its my first go at this I didn't want to risk ruining a really nice figure, so I went out and bought a Schleich. I'd not really been that interested in Schleichs because of their exaggerated, cartoony designs, but when I actually went out to look at them properly in a shop I was kind of charmed by some of them. There's something I find appealing about the contented looking tyrannosaurus, so i thought I might try and turn it into something more unique.