News:

Poll time! Cast your votes for the best stegosaur toys, the best ceratopsoid toys (excluding Triceratops), and the best allosauroid toys (excluding Allosaurus) of all time! Some of the polls have been reset to include some recent releases, so please vote again, even if you voted previously.

Main Menu

You can support the Dinosaur Toy Forum by making dino-purchases through these links to Ebay and Amazon. Disclaimer: these and other links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Dinosaur Toy Forum are often affiliate links, so when you make purchases through them we may make a commission.

Takamas Traceings and Other Drawings.

Started by Takama, September 14, 2013, 10:42:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Takama

Ok, I suck at drawing.  So I trace pictures on the computer with a pencil and paper.

This is my first attempt. A Invicta Troodon

tyrantqueen

I hate to say this but...what's the point of tracing? I have more respect for someone who draws something badly freehand, than someone who makes a perfect copy that has been traced.

It's just not very creative, sorry :-\

Takama

Sorry to hear that :(.   but it is what I do when im board.   

Blade-of-the-Moon

Honestly, I used to trace when I was first learning to draw..helped me get an idea for how something should look and a base to work with.

Now looking at your first piece here, if you hadn't told me you traced it I would never have thought so.  It looks very little like an Invicta Troodon and more like an original piece.  If your other art is like this I'm betting it's less of tracing and more of " inspired by " .  :)

clutch

I would freehand a lot when I could actually draw, but every now and then I would trace the outline of something that was difficult.  Your rendition looks very good.  I especially like all the scales.

Takama

Glad people like them.   I can Sometimes make a good Dinosaur freehand, but its rarely a success.   Scales are the only detail that I can relly do.